2017 Winter Time Trial Pointscore Winners

The 2017 Winter Time Trials series has concluded following WTT 5 on 17/23 September.

The Men’s 1x Kwiatkowski Cup came down to the wire, with the top 5 rowers all within 10 points leading into the final WTT. Sitting 2nd, Tom Perry (CRC/HPP) won maximum points to pass leader Hayden Vanderwoude (Shellharbour) and win his second consecutive Kwiatkowski Cup, the first rower to do so. Rob Curtin (BMRC) and Tyron Boorman (BMRC/HPP) were 2nd and 3rd, respectively.

In the Women’s 1x Circulis Plate, Sarah Larkin (ANU/HPP) entered WTT5 with only Alexandra Moylan (CRC) any chance of passing her, 8 points back in 2nd. Larkin won maximum points and with Moylan a scratching, she ran away with the Circulis Plate to win by 24 points. Moylan held onto 2nd, while Alice Hatcher (ANU) and Maddy Bennett (CRC/HPP) tied for 3rd.

The BMRC/CRC combination of Damien Pentony, Ian Mongan & Seb Lang won the Open 2-; and a tie for 1st in the Women’s 2- between CRC’s Camille Cherbuin, Kerry Knowler & Elaine Bissaker, and the ANU’s Miranda Hall, Jana Pretorius & Sarah Edwards.

The Open 2x was anyone’s race to win, with 5 points separating the top 4 crews with one WTT to go. CRC’s Nerida Carter, Darrell Ninham & Judi Walsh held onto 1st by a single point from CGS Old Boy’s Gary Power & Alan Carey. Glebe’s Anna Hueneke & Kenneth Major finished 3rd, making the trip to Canberra for every WTT this year.  Kerrie Smyth & Emma Southcott (CRC) won the Women’s 2x from BMRC/LTRC’s Cecilie Young & Christine Young in 2nd.

The BMRC crew of David Whyte, Andrew Bailey, Colin Calderwood, Frank Briggs, Brendon Ellis & Judith Abercromby won the Open 4x. Capital Lakes’ Rebecca Perkins Lauren Kalkman Geoff Nichols, Nigel Miller, Masumi Yamamoto & Daniel Payten came 2nd. In the Women’s 4x, the LTRC crew of Maricelle Oringo, Samantha Warne, Caitlin Banton, Heather Warne and Grace West proved consistency is key, picking up points in all five WTTs to finish 1st.

Both 8+ pointscores were close affairs with only 1 point between 1st and 2nd. ANU won the Opens, and BMRC the Women’s.

Congratulations to the pointscore winners, and thank you to all of the WTT competitiors across the 2017 series. An announcement on the WTT Presentation will be made soon.

Click here for the complete Saturday Small Boats and Sunday Big Boats pointscores