Interstate and National regatta ACT highlights

The ACT had a very good National and Inter-State regatta.
The ACT had two medalists at the Inter-State Regatta, our best result since 1997.

At the National regatta all of our participating clubs had good results.

Individually many of our athletes had a superb National regatta.

Caleb Antill of ANU is National under 23 Champion Single and under 23 Champion Double Sculler and was also a member of the National Champion Quad scull.
Caleb has built on his International Under 23 Gold medal from last season to be a near certainty for International representation again this year.

Tom Perry of Canberra Rowing Club won the National Lightweight Single Sculls to follow in the footsteps of ACT legends Peter Nevett (ANU, 1976) and Bruce Hick (Canberra RC, 1992 and 1996) who also won this prestigious title. In 2017, Tom was also a member of a third placed Lightweight double with Will Clark of ANU, a second placed National quad (again with Will, but behind the Hong Kong International crew) and a Champion National Lightweight Eight again including Will and with the crew also including Renae Domaschenz as both coxswain and co-coach.

In the Inter-state regatta Kat Ross (of ANU) had a great row to come third in the Inter-state Para Legs, Trunk and Arms event, in a tough competition. Luke Letcher rowed a good second behind Olympic silver medalist Cam Girdlestone of NSW. Again this is very tough International standard competition and the ACT’s best result in this event.

Other regatta highlights included Tyron Boorman coming second behind Caleb in the national under 23 Single Scull, and his stroking the winning Under 23 Quad scull that also included ANU’s Tom Coliins. Nathan Kennedy and Alex Grzeskowiak of Capital lakes were members of a quad that came second in that event and also rowed a good second place in the under Under 21 double.
The Open Quad Scull Crew that included Caleb that won the National open Quad Scull Championship also included Luke Letcher of Black Mountain RC.
Kat Ross(ANU) won the Para Trunks and Arms Championship.

National Club double of Michael Cusack and Philippe Lorrain getting silver in their event.

Third places to the ANU/CGGS composite Under 23 Lightweight women’s quad and the third placed Radford Schoolgirl Quad Scull.

Some great results for all of these rowers:
OLM1x CRC Thomas Perry
OM4x Caleb Antill [ANU], Luke Letcher [BMRC] composite
OLM8X+ William Clark [ANU], Thomas Perry [CANB] Cox: Renae Domaschenz [ANU] Composite
TAW1x ANU Kathryn Ross
U23M1x ANU Caleb Antill
U23M2x Caleb Antill [ANU] composite
U23M4x Tom Collins [ANU], Tyron Boorman [BMRC] composite

ISM1x ACT Luke Letcher
OLM4x Thomas Perry [CANB] composite
CM2x CRC Michael Cusack, Philippe Lorrain
U23M1x BMRC Tyron Boorman
U23LW4x Bianca Gillett [CGGS], Sarah Larkin [ANU], Amy Underwood [CRC], Jilly Roberts [ANU]
U21W2x ANU Sarah Larkin, Jilly Roberts
U21M2x CLRC Nathan Kennedy, Alex Grzeskowiak
LTAMix4+ Sue Donoghoe [ANU], Ian Cooper [ANU] composite
SG4x+Sprint Daramalan Sophie Corver, Amy Dwyer, Georgia Tzavalas, Jessica Brady, Cox: Abby Thomas

ISWLTA1x ACT Kathryn Ross
OLM2x William Clark [ANU], Thomas Perry [CANB]
U23M4 Nathan Kennedy [CLRC], Bradley Pearsall [CRC], Alex Grzeskowiak [CLRC] composite
SG4x+ Radford Emma Harper, Lisa Seberry, Nicola Greenland, Annie Creer, Cox: Ethan Toscan
LTAMix4+ Cox: Renae Domaschenz [ANU] composite
OW8+Sprint ANU Madeleine Farrar Cox: Renae Domaschenz composite

The ACT was also represented by 4 umpires, 1 boat driver and several other volunteers