Life Members

P Davoren 2018 Pat started rowing in Canberra in 1964, the year the Lake filled and competition began. Pat has a long history of service to rowing in Canberra and was a committee member of the then ACT Rowing Association as early as 1967. He has been Vice-president, Treasurer and Secretary in both Rowing ACT and the Canberra Rowing Club over the decades since, as well as being Captain and Vice-Captain in the Canberra Rowing Club. He was a Committee member/Director of Rowing ACT for 14 continuous years and only stepped aside in 2017 to make way for others. Pat remains RACT’s and CRC’s Public Officer. Pat has always exercised a whole-of-rowing approach and has been a strong advocate for expanding participation in the sport. He has an encyclopedic knowledge of rowing, particularly in the ACT. Rowing has greatly benefited from Pat’s contributions and the Board proposes his contribution be recognised by Member Clubs.
P.H. Duncan
R.C. Freeman
Roger Grylis
Mark Kwiatkowski
M.L. Lamb
R.J. Porra 1984 Dr Bob Porra (1931-2019) was a member of the Executive Committee of the ACT Rowing Association from 1976 to 1984 as Honorary Secretary, Senior Vice President and President (1980-81).

He was a major contributor to administration of rowing in the ACT across the full range of its activities. These contributions included a major review of the governance of ACTRA leading to adoption of a new constitution and incorporation in 1977. He took the lead in advancing well considered proposals for an international standard 2000 metre rowing course on Jerrabomberra Creek and negotiated improvements to rowing spectator areas associated with construction of the Molonglo Parkway. Bob was elected as a Life Member of Rowing ACT in 1984.

In addition to his service to ACTRA, Bob gave long service as a coach to Canberra Grammar School achieving great success with coxed IV boats. Bob’s name lives on in the Porra Cup, which is awarded to the winner of the Men’s under-19 double scull at the ACT Championships

D.W. Walters