Winter Time Trials Pointscore Heats Up

Through 3 Winter Time Trials there isn’t much separating the pointscore leaders in each boat class.

The Kwiatkowski Cup Men’s 1x is led by Shellharbour rower Hayden Vanderwoude with a 4 point advantage over BMRC’s Rob Curtin. Alan Carey (CGS Old Boys) and Nicholas Barnier (CRC) round out the top 4 just 5 and 7 points back from Vanderwoude. 2016 Kwiatkowski Cup Winner Tom Perry (CRC) isn’t far off the pace in 5th.

Sarah Larkin (ANU) is enjoying a 13 point buffer between her and next-best Alexandra Moylan (CRC) in the race for the Women’s 1x Circulis Plate. Philippa Henty (CRC), Alice Hatcher (ANU), Neve James (CGGS) and Jilly Roberts (ANU) are all well placed to make a late push for the Plate. Course record holder Adair Ferguson (CRC) sits 7th.

The BMRC/CRC ‘squad’ of Damien Pentony, Ian Mongan and Seb Lang are proving that consistency is key as they lead the Men’s 2- pointscore with twice the points of their nearest competitor.

It’s anyone’s race for the Women’s Pair with only 2 points separating the 5 crews entered so far. Two CRC crews lead the pointscore – Janice Jago & Felecity Antill, and Camille Chaerbuin, Kerry Knowleer & Elaine Bissaker.

The Open 2x is led by Nerida Carter and Darrell Ninham (CRC) from Sue Donoghoe and Ian Cooper (ANU). Glebe Double Anna Hueneke and Kenneth Major sit 3rd after racing in all WTTs so far.

A two-horse race is starting to emerge in the Women’s Doubles, CRC crew of Kerrie Smyth and Emma Southcott are tied for the lead with BMRC/LTRC crew Cecilie Young and Christine Young.

Open Quads are led by CLRC crew of Perkins, Kalkman, Nichols, Yamamoto, Payten and Miller, with a 5 point lead over second.

With low entries keeping the pointscore close the Open & Womens Fours and Eights are far from over.

The Full Pointscore for Saturday/Small Boats can be found here

The Full Pointscore for Sunday/Big Boats can be found here

WTT 4 is on 19/20 August, and WTT 5 on 16/17 September.

Points are allocated by awarding 1 point for every boat beaten on the handicap adjusted results. Crews may change up to 50% of their rowers before they are considered a different entry e.g. a quad can have up to 6 different rowers over the course of the WTT series and still accumulate points as the same crew.