Trophies of the ACT


Trophies of the ACT

Rowing ACT was founded in 1964. Since that time many trophies have been created. Some of these trophies are no longer relevant, for example races involving tubs, some have been obscured by the mists of time or simply lost. However, a good number of trophies have endured and Rowing ACT is seeking to catalogue them and to honour those who have been successful over the years.

Uriarra Cup

Men’s Open 8+ ACT Championship

Phere Niki Trophy

Club with highest points score from ACT Championship regatta

Fairbairn Cup

 Highest points score at ANU regatta

Disher Cup

Men’s 8+ from ACT universities an d military colleges

Gluckwunsch Cup

Intermediate Men’s Four

Corin Bowl

Champion Schoolboy 1st Four

AMPOL Trophy

Champion Women’s Open Four

Sculler’s Cup

Champion Women’s Open Single Scull

Panton Memorial Trophy

Winner of the Col Panton Marathon

Black Pete Plate

Fastest women’s boat in Col Panton Marathon who do not receive financial support

The Skipper’s Shield

Fastest boat in the Col Panton Marathon

David Stegeman Trophy

Fastest 4+ in the Col Panton Marathon

Cootapatamba Cup

Fastest 4x in the Col Panton Marathon

Peter Wilkinson Trophy

Outstanding improvement during the season

Molonglo Cup

Men’s Intermediate 4+

Shakespear Cup

Open Men’s 8 at CGS Regatta


Lightweight Men’s 4+

Burley Griffin Plate

Novice Lightweight Men’s 4+

Fraser Cup

Schoolboys’ 8+

CGS Rowing Association Cup

Schoolboys’ 1x

NCDC Rose Bowl

Men’s Novice 4+

Garran Cup

Schoolboys’/ Junior Mens’ 4x+

Veteran Four Plate

Masters Men’s 4+

Canberra Day Bucket

Women’s Open 8+

Banjo Cup

Men’s Open 4+

Presidents Shovel

Men’s Intermediate 8+

Cliff Hill Memorial Shield

Service to ACT Rowing

Greg Welsh Cup

Schoolgirls’ 8+

Bill O’Brien Shield

Club point score

Yarramundi Medal

Awarded each year to most successful male and female athletes at the ACT Championship regatta

Lyn Cirulis Shield

Best performance by female sculler during annual Winter Time Trials

Kwiatkowski Cup

Best performance by a male sculler during annual Winter Time Trials

The Westbourne Woods Trophy

Schoolgirls Eights Championship

ACTEWCorporation Shield

Schoolboys Quad Scull at the Radford Regatta

Donoghoe Family Shield

Schoolgirls Fours Championships

 There are a number of trophies which are no longer awarded or are missing. If anyone has information on the whereabouts of these trophies we would like to hear from you.

Flotta Lauro Bowl Champion 3rd Grade Men’s Eight
The Doc’s Cup Champion Scoolboy 2nd Four
Cotter Cup Champion Schoolboy 3rd Four
Schoolboy Tub Four Trophy Champion Schoolboy Tub Four
Ada Libbis Trophy Champion 3rd Grade Women’s Four

Trophies have been listed in the following categories.